Edgar Cartotto "Dedication to Basketball" Award

Edgar became a board member in 1953. He rose through the ranks and became one of the leading officials in the NCAA, officiating in both NCAA and NIT tournaments. Never forgetting his roots at Board #33 and IAABO, he served on the executive board at IAABO and was chairperson of the Visualization and Education committee for many years.

For Board #33 he was the interpreter and instrumental in the cadet program. Edgar was well-respected, mainly for his devotion to the sport of basketball. His drive, passion, and love for the game and its rules were always evident. Throughout his career, Edgar sought to be a teacher to both established and novice officials. Arriving two hours before a game or meeting was not uncommon for Edgar and talking situations, game management and basketball history with fellow officials could fill hours at a local pub or in the back of an auditorium. He would stay as long as you would listen.

In his honor Board #33 creates the “Edgar Cartotto Award to Basketball Dedication and Excellence."


  1. Involved in Basketball for a minimum of 25 years.
  2. Need NOT be a member of Board #33
  3. Need NOT be a basketball official.
  4. Supporting documentation of accomplishments in basketball i.e., Coaching, Athletic Director, Administrator – School or Community and overall dedication and service to the sport of basketball.
  5. The award can only be won once.

To nominate a candidate for the Edgar Cartotto Award, please follow the procedure outline:

  1. The candidate must be nominated in writing on or before February 1.
  2. Along with the nomination, please include as much background information as possible about your candidate. Please be certain to provide the information required based on the criteria.
  3. Nominations and resume information concerning the candidate must be mailed to Board 33, Awards Chairperson by February 1.

Past Recipients:

2011 - Edgar Cartotto

2012 - William Vacca

2013 - Tom Lopes

2014 - Edward Finn

2015 - James Ring

2016 - Chris Jennings

2017 - Jim Reagan

2018 - Mary Ann DeCarlo

2019 - Larry White

2020 - Jon Levinson

2024 - Dan Vivino